Whole Wheat Dinner Rolls in 20 Minutes

Fellas,

These rolls went so fast I didn’t even have time to snap a picture!  Aw man!  But here’s a pic of some yummy rolls…just imagine this came out of my oven tonight.

This is my very beautiful Aunt Shelly (with her hubby who I used to think was Clark Kent. haha).

She is amazing in many ways, not the least of which she birthed eight children.  Eight!  And also her people come from miles around to sample her cooking.  It’s pretty tasty stuff. I’ve had lots of hilarious memories with these guys when our families got together, and I miss her.  But there’s a light at the end of the tunnel because I feel we’re almost hanging out when I am making her dinner rolls.  She has the best rolls recipe ever and it literally takes 25 minutes to make before you put it in the oven.  Including rising time!  Truly a dream come true, especially if you are really last minute, like me, and realize as you cooking a big pot of soup that rolls would be a nice addition.  Boom. Done and done.

Here it is:

Whole Wheat Dinner Rolls

  • 3 TBS Yeast
  • 1/2 Cup Sugar
  • 1 3/4 Cup Warm Water
  • 5 1/2 Cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/2 Cup Butter
  • 3/4 Tbs Salt
  • 2 Eggs

Directions:

Mix yeast, sugar, and water.  Let sit for 10 minutes.  Add remaining ingredients.  Knead for a minute or two.  Form into rolls.  Let sit for 5-10 minutes.

Bake 10 minutes.  They will rise a lot when they are cooking.

Voila!  Enjoy!

5 comments on “Whole Wheat Dinner Rolls in 20 Minutes

  1. emmycooks says:

    How big do you make the rolls for this cooking time? An easier way to ask is probably: how many rolls does the recipe yield? And do you bake them in a 9×13 dish or a baking sheet? I’m always looking for a quick bread to serve with soup!

  2. The dinner rolls look divine I can almost smell them cooking, I will try to make these, thanks for the post.
    Cheers Callie

  3. Aliesha says:

    At what temperature do you bake these? I tried 350, but they took about 20+ minutes to bake. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

