From scratch: pizza sauce

Did I we have about 5,000 too many tomatoes in the garden? We do. We’ve had a lot of tomatoes lately, to say the least. Well I’ve seen so many instagrams about canning jam and fruit I thought, “why not pizza sauce?” Today I found an awesome recipe for it (brilliant!) and I gave it a try. I didn’t even end up canning it because we ate it all, but it was pretty yummy. This recipe is the best because you can use canned or fresh tomatoes. I used both. My only complaint is that it didn’t really make that much. I probably could have filled only 1 quart jar. So double or triple it if need be.

Here it is:

Homemade Pizza Sauce (original recipe from Scattered Thoughts of a Crafty Mom)

• 1 14 1/2 oz can of crushed tomatoes
• 1/8 cup of water
• 1 tsp of salt
• 1 1/2 tsp of sugar
• 1 tsp of garlic powder
• 1 tsp of onion powder
• 1 tsp of dried basil
• 1tsp of dried oregano

*if you are using fresh tomatoes, you will need to add 4 tbsp of bottled lemon juice for acidity

Mix all ingredients together in a saucepan or skillet and saute on medium until sauce begins to bubble. Reduce heat to medium low and simmer about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

On a side note, one of best tricks I have learned is buying bread dough either fresh or frozen and using it as pizza crust. I often make my own from scratch, but when you are making the dough from scratch that can get a little time consuming. So when I am in a bind and I need a quick dough, I head to the store.

Happy pizza sauce canning!!

Leave a Reply

