Holy Guacamole

I remember the first time I saw someone make guacamole. We had just moved from North Carolina to The BRONX, and I was scared out of my mind. I had met a really cool girl at church named Amber, and I thought – maybe I can be friends with her. Not 15 minutes later, I walked up to my building, and I looked up and lo and behold there was Amber. She lived in THE SAME BUILDING! What are the chances (seriously not good!). I was so happy I could have kissed her. We DID become good friends, and one night we showed up at their house for dinner (invited, of course). Her should-be-culinary-chef husband was working away in the kitchen finishing up some last minute touches. I asked if I could do anything and he handed me a bowl full of stuff, including avocados. “Wanna mash this up?” He said. I guess it had never occurred to me that people make their own guac! So I mashed it up and it was fabulous.

Fast forward 6 years and here we are. Last night we had a smorgasbord of taco salad ingredients laid out on the table and I was just going to chop up some avocados when I thought, “Hey! I should make some guacamole!” So I found a quick recipe and it took me all of 2 seconds.

Here it is:

20120903-230843.jpg

Easy Guacamole (original recipe from allrecipes.com)

  • 2 avocados
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 ripe tomato, chopped
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Peel and mash avocados in a medium serving bowl. Stir in onion, garlic, tomato, lime juice, salt and pepper. Season with remaining lime juice and salt and pepper to taste. Chill for half an hour to blend flavors.

The best part is that it has lime in it, so it doesn’t turn brown. Very delicious and quick.

One comment on “Holy Guacamole

  1. pyandplate says:

    This looks lovely! I always make my own guacamole and I think it is one of the most satisfying things to mash!

Leave a Reply

