On Body Image

I’ve mentioned before that this is something I feel really passionate about.  I found an interesting article the other day about photoshopping magazines that really kind of infuriated me.  The media plays a huge role in the way young girls view themselves, not to mention women and moms.  If you have a spare 5 minutes, it is an interesting read.

I occasionally read a mommy blog called Power of Moms and they have recently posted 2 articles on this topic that shed light on how to develop and maintain a healthy body image, especially after having children (we’ve all been there, right?).  I think the author really puts it pretty beautifully.  You can find part 1 here and part 2 here.  Some readers have some great ideas.  I don’t have a daughter, but if I ever do, I’ll hopefully have all the tools to make her confident woman who values so much more than just the shape and size of her body.

Happy reading!

One comment on “On Body Image

  1. great post I did one similar to this about building positive body image in young kids if your interested http://lettersnumbersandbooksohmy.blogspot.com/2012/06/0-is-not-size-building-postive-body.html

Leave a Reply

