A quick last minute dinner: Taco Salad made with 100% Whole Foods

Do you ever have those nights when you plan to make something for dinner, and you open the cupboards and realize that you didn’t buy half of the ingredients you needed from the grocery store earlier in the week?  This happens to me like once a week.  HA!  Now that we are in New York there is no such thing as a quick run to the grocery store, so I decided to improvise and it turned out so great!

I was originally going to make Mexican Tostadas Topped With Poached Egg (Recipe here).  I didn’t have: onion, avocado, olives, sour cream, salsa, and green onions.  HAHAHA.  This recipe calls for a beef mixture, but I planned on making it vegetarian anyway, so I just used the same recipe and doubled the beans while omitting the beef.

Here it is.

Black Bean Mixture (originally from For the Love of Cooking).

  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • Dash of red pepper flakes
  • Sea salt and freshly cracked pepper, to taste
  • 2 15 oz cans of black beans, drained and rinsed

Mix it all together and let the flavors seep into each other.

I then put together toppings for a big taco salad: corn, tomatoes, a bit of cheese, cucumbers, carrots, lettuce, and corn chips.  I also  made some cooked carrots and squash.  My bestie told me about a cool way to make squash too – just add seasonings to it in a skillet (I only knew of steaming or roasting).  This time I added some Montreal Chicken Seasoning.  yum.

The kids went wild for this dinner.  They didn’t eat lettuce, but they honestly ate all of the rest, including the vegetables.  I was shocked.  The Wild One usually doesn’t care for beans, so I was very happy.  Nice to know there is this time saving last minute meal available, and all with stuff we had in the cupboard and fridge.

Leave a Reply

