Drugs During Pregnancy

I ran across this article the other day and felt so many emotions – shock, anger, frustration, helplessness, and mostly sadness.  It is basically a drug that will be given to obese pregnant women so that their babies will not be born fat.  Does this not sit right with anyone else??  One time I got a really bad cold/cough and I was still nursing my baby.  I called the Dr. to see if there was anything I could take since it kept me up all night long.  She said no.  Before I hung up I said, “But I can take cough drops, right?”  I was shocked when she said “Absolutely not.”  They seem so harmless.  If we can’t even take cough drops while nursing, shouldn’t that scare us about taking anything at all while we are pregnant?  And a drug for ensuring your baby comes out leaner just seems weird…what are the longterm effects?  And it doesn’t really get at the root of the problem, right?  I wish somehow that we could all see there is no quick fix for these things.  Being healthy is a permanent lifestyle change.  Anyway, keeping my fingers crossed that it doesn’t get passed!

Leave a Reply

