Thai Peanut Sauce

Believe it or not this was a last minute meal last week before we left town.  I was in a hurry and I had a big bag of snow peas in the fridge.  I thought I’d grill them somehow and find a way to put it over rice when it popped in my head that I could do some sort of peanut sauce.  Luckily I had all the ingredients in my pantry and fridge and it all worked out!  Just a side note – Authentic Thai cooking does not involve peanut butter.  They don’t really use it over there.  Glad I’m not in Thailand because I love this stuff!

Thai Peanut Sauce (original recipe from Shesimmers.com)

To make vegetables:

  • 2-3 cups of vegetables ( I used snow peas, carrots, peas)
  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 cup chicken, cooked
Heat olive oil in a pan and saute vegetables until soft.  Add chicken, then add to sauce.

To make sauce:

  • 1 13 oz. can coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup Thai red curry paste
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 Tbs salt
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbs apple cider vinegar or white vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water

Put all ingredients into a pot and bring to a gentle boil, whisking constantly.  Let simmer for 3-5 minutes over low heat.  Remove from heat and add to vegetables. Serve over rice.

The whole fam gobbled this baby up.  We sure love our Thai food.

One comment on “Thai Peanut Sauce

  1. Nice recipe! It sound quick, easy and delicious.

Leave a Reply

