Breakfast: Blueberry Scones

My friend was just telling me about a tea party she went to and she mentioned scones.  After that I couldn’t get it out of my head.  I had to make them!  Luckily I found this recipe to quiet my craving and feed the hungry animals (kids).  The family will be so happy for something new since we’ve kind of been in a breakfast rut.  Super easy and delicious.

Blueberry Oat Scones (Originally adapted from Weelicious).

  • 2 Cups All Purpose Flour (I used white wheat)
  • 1 Cup Old Fashioned Oats (also know as 5 minute oats)
  • 3 Tbsp Sugar
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 Cup Butter (1 stick), chilled & cubed
  • 3/4 Cup Buttermilk
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Cup Blueberries (if using frozen blueberries, add to the batter while frozen)

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
2. In a bowl, whisk together the first 5 ingredients until combined.
3. Using a pastry cutter or your fingers, rub the butter into the flour/oat mixture until is resembles coarse meal.
4. Whisk the buttermilk, egg and vanilla in a separate bowl.
5. Pour the buttermilk mixture over the flour/oat mixture and using a fork, stir until combined.
6. Stir in the blueberries until just combined.
7. Scoop out about 2 tbsp of the batter per scone onto a Silpat or parchment lined baking sheet (I like using an ice cream scooper for this.)
8. Bake for 20 minutes.
9. Serve.

I actually have a scone pan, so it made about 10 regular sized scones.  Give it a try for a yummy breakfast or snack.

Leave a Reply

