What’s for Dinner Wednesday – Garlic and Artichoke Pizza

I steamed some artichokes the other day and had waaaaay more than I could ever eat by myself, so I needed a great recipe to use them up.  I’ve never really had artichoke pizza, so this was a new adventure for me.  First things first – you have to get the hearts out.  I am an artichoke novice, and had no idea there was that sharp fuzzy thing in the middle (the choke).  Made me wonder – is this a species of cactus?  Anyone know?  Here’s a quick video that shows how to do it.  (mine were already cooked, but I guess you could do it beforehand also).

So I got my pizza crust all ready and got to work.

Garlic Artichoke Pizza (original recipe adapted from Allrecipes.com)

  • 1 unbaked pizza crust
  • 3/4 cup spaghetti sauce.

I used this stuff and it added even more of an artichoke kick. 

  • 1 (6 ounce) jar marinated artichoke hearts, drained, liquid reserved OR 2 fresh artichoke hearts
  • 1 medium tomato, cut in half and sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 pound shredded Colby-Monterey Jack cheese
Directions
  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Prepare pizza crust. Place on a pizza pan.
  2. Pour the liquid from the artichokes into a small skillet, and bring to a boil over medium heat. Cook for 1 minute, or until the liquid is almost gone. Add garlic, and cook, stirring, for less than a minute. Add artichoke hearts, stir to coat with garlic flavor, then remove from heat, and set aside.
  3. Spread spaghetti sauce over the prepared pizza crust. Sprinkle with cheese, then place the artichoke hearts and garlic over the cheese. Arrange tomato slices evenly over the top.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes in the preheated oven, until crust is puffed and golden, and cheese is melted.

The assembled pizza, before the oven got to it.

I ended up making just a plain cheese pizza for the kiddos and they of course gobbled that up.

Consensus:

Me:  Really liked it.  The sauce really packed a punch, and it was almost tangy.

The Mr.:  Let’s just say there was only 1 piece of the pie left after the TWO of us where done.  whoops.

2 comments on “What’s for Dinner Wednesday – Garlic and Artichoke Pizza

  1. That looks awesome. By the way, you mention avocados at the start – I assume you meant artichoke?

Leave a Reply

