Happy Birthday Chocolate Beet Cake

I’ve read about chocolate beet cake for months now.  Luckily I had an excuse to try it since it was my bestie’s birthday today.  I got this recipe from Green Smoothie Girl, but there are lots of other recipes out there too.

Chocolate Beet Cake (original recipe from Green Smoothie Girl)

  • 3 eggs
  •  1 ½ cups Sugar
  •  ¾ cup oil
  •  1 tsp. vanilla
  •  1 3/4 cups steamed beets (about 2 medium-large beets, peeled and chopped)
  •  4 Tbsp. cocoa
  •  2 cups whole-wheat flour
  •  1 ½ tsp. baking soda
  •  ½ tsp sea salt

(The night before, I boiled my beets for about an hour, then wrapped them in tin foil and left them on the counter overnight.  In the morning, I peeled the skins off and chopped them up.)

Puree beets in blender or food processorThen add eggs, sugar, oil, and vanilla.  Add chocolate and other ingredients.  The batter is very thick, but don’t worry, it turns out fine.  Mine looked like this. Bake in 9”x13” oiled pan at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

 

Yeah…I had a little accident when the frosting exploded out of the tubing bag, but it says “Merce is heart to beet.”  Get it??  Muuuuaaaahahahaha.  I am so hilarious.

Consensus:  It’s moist and the texture is great, but it does have a little beet-ish aftertaste. Overall not too bad.  The kids didn’t get a taste yet, but I’m sure they’ll gobble it up.

Happy Birthday Bestie!

 

Leave a Reply

