Grinding Wheat and Blender Waffles

Hey Ya’ll.  Hands down this is my very most favorite breakfast of all time.  I always ask for it when I am visiting my mamacita.  They are hearty and yummy and healthy.  But before we get to that…here’s a little video for you.  And if you are amazed by the videography skills, yes, those were done by yours truly.  Not everyone can shoot sideways and lack focus in all the close-ups.  Don’t worry, I’m not quitting my day job.

My bestie was telling me that she bought this 20 lb. bucket of red wheat that has lasted her TEN months.  She just periodically grinds some when she runs out.  This sounded completely awesome to me, because I buy a 10 pound bag of whole wheat flour and that lasts me about 3 months.  I told her she MUST show me the process.  So she did.

Anyway, back to the recipe.  If you don’t have whole wheat kernels, just use whole wheat flour (or flour you just ground in your wheat grinder) and it works just as well.

Whole Wheat Blender Waffles (original recipe from my mamacita)

  • 1 cup whole wheat kernels
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 3 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Directions:

Blend wheat, milk, and eggs together for four minutes in a blender.  You might have to add a bit more milk if it is looking thick.  Pour in a mixing bowl, and add remaining ingredients.  Mix it up,  pour ’em in the waffle maker, and BAM.  A delicious, nutritious way to start your day.

4 comments on “Grinding Wheat and Blender Waffles

  1. I love your posts – especially when I get to see TWO of my old roomies in them! You two make me proud! And Merce – that baby is gorgeous! Oh my goodness….I NEED to get down to visit! I’m going to make this happen ASAP! I’ve got my mom hooked on your blog Austyn 🙂 It’s fun to get great ideas from you! I’ve started the No-Processed food challenge 3 times now….I always feel good when I do it! I need to be a little more dedicated! Anyway….Love you two! Keep the posts coming! Love them!!

  2. Merce says:

    i can NOT believe you didn’t post a picture of the waffles! Do I have to go to your house to see them myself?! You must have like some 100 posts all supported with photos and this one just has a boring video of me. booo

  3. Heather says:

    You can freeze the leftover whole wheat flour in a plastic container to help preserve the nutrients. A lot of nutrients are lost the 24 hours that wheat flour is left on the shelf. FYI- I have ruined blender blades by making whole wheat batter in the blender. I just use our wheat grinder to grind wheat now.

Leave a Reply

