Snack Attack – Cheese Crackers

Oh boy have we missed goldfish around here.  Tornado spots those babies and goes into a cheddar frenzy.  And I just can’t help myself.  If they are around, I snack on ’em.  I’ve been wanting to make these for a long time, and finally got around to it today.  They turned out pretty good, but I need to experiment a little bit more to see if I can make them even better.

Homemade Cheese Crackers (original recipe from weelicious)

  • 2 Cups Cheddar Cheese, grated
  • 1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 Tbsp Spike Seasoning (any salt free/herb seasoning will work)
  • 6 Tbsp Unsalted Butter, chilled

1. Preheat oven to 400 F.
2. Place the first 3 ingredients in a food processor and pulse to combine.
3. Add the butter and pulse and until a ball forms.
4. Roll out dough 1/4 inch thick on a floured or parchment-covered surface. Slice into crackers or cut out shapes with a cookie cutter.
5. Bake for 15-17 minutes.
6. Serve.

 A few notes:  I didn’t have any Spike Seasoning, so I used Savory, and it gave it kind of a weird taste.  I will have to see if I can find it.  Also, a little salt might boost the flavor to make me LOVE them.  As of right now, pretty good, but still not Pepperidge Farm. 🙂
The Wild One really liked them and ate 3 or 4 right before bed.   Tornado has yet to taste them…tomorrow will tell!
Leave a Reply

