Breaking the Routine – Bok Choy

Do you ever feel like you eat the SAME things all the time?  Another PB and J?  Don’t mind if I do.  There are some things I loooooove so it’s hard to eat anything else (like granola for breakfast), but the problem with that is that you don’t get all the nutrients you need.  There are so many foods out there I’ve never tried, not including the ones I don’t like.  Sidenote:  I have always hated tomatoes, but a few years ago I had a goal to learn to like them.  I am not to the point where I can eat them plain, but now I put them on sandwiches, salads, and fresh salsa.  Woop woop!  So anyway, at the grocery store the other day Bok Choy was on sale so I thought, “What the heck.  Let’s do it.”  I don’t know the first thing about it or how you are supposed to eat it so I looked up several recipes and pep-talked myself into making it.  Guess what?  Pretty delish.  It’s very Asian tasting.  Here’s the recipe:

Bok Choy with Cashews (originally from Simply Recipes)

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped green onions, including green ends
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 pound baby bok choy, rinsed, larger leaves separated from base, base trimmed but still present, holding the smaller leaves together
  • 1/2 teaspoon dark sesame oil
  • Salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped, roasted, salted cashews

Directions

1 Heat olive oil in a large sauté pan on medium high heat. Add onions, then garlic, then bok choy. Sprinkle with sesame oil and salt. Cover, and let the baby bok choy cook down for approximately 3 minutes. (Like spinach, when cooked, the bok choy will wilt a bit.)

2 Remove cover. Lower heat to low. Stir and let cook for a minute or two longer, until the bok choy is just cooked.

3 Gently mix in cashews.

Serves 4.

 

Consensus

The Mr.:  Really liked it.  He commented that it tasted Asian and reminded him lots of things he used to eat in Thailand.

Me:  I was hesitant, but ended up liking it.  The texture took a while to get used to (I didn’t grow up eating many cooked greens), but we ate all of it between the two of us.

The Wild One:  Didn’t even touch it

Tornado:  Choked on it.  Guess it’s a hard thing to chew with only 6 teeth.  We’ll build up to that one.

Bottom line is that I’m glad I tried something new.  I’m always amazed that there isn’t a limit to flavors in this world.  Keeps life interesting!

 

Leave a Reply

