Cabbage Smoothie

I know…I was skeptical at first too.  At least if you have a spinach smoothie, you know that spinach is a little bit sweet.  But cabbage is bitter.  My neighbor brought this up to me to try and honestly, it was delicious.  It had a small hint of cabbage aftertaste, but The Mr. couldn’t tell at all.  I can’t wait to buy a head of cabbage and whip some of these babies up for myself!

Strawberry Blast Green Smoothie (original recipe by smoothie handbook)

  • 4 cups of cabbage, green
  • 1 1/2 bananas, frozen
  • 1 cup strawberries, frozen
  • 1 teaspoon stevia ( you can replace with sugar or orange juice)
  • 4 ice cubes
  • 1 1/2 cups water

Blend the water and the cabbage first. Then add the rest of the ingredients and blend until smooth. Serves 1-2.

Give it a try!  Even the kids will love this one, because it is pink.  The website is a wonderful resource also – I want to try them all!

6 comments on “Cabbage Smoothie

  1. Carrie says:

    My first thought was “whaaa?” (picture the little minion in Despicable Me…) but if you say it is good I believe you. I actually like cabbage (the only person in my house that does) so I am going to have to try this one…I will let you know if I agree with your review of it. 🙂

  2. Lauren says:

    Sure it probably tastes good, but did you have horrible gas afterwards?!

  3. Just bought a VitaMix…am on an adventure to find great and nutritious drinks. Will give this a try!! Thanks!

  4. ecbbs says:

    just looked up measurements…so I probably used too much cabbage.

    Cabbage Measures, Substitutions and Equivalents

    • 1/4 pound cooked cabbage = 1 serving
    • 1 medium head cabbage = 4 servings
    • 1 medium head cabbage = about 2 pounds
    • 1 pound raw cabbage = 2 cups cooked
    • 1 pound fresh = 4 servings cooked
    • 1 medium raw cabbage = 4 cups raw shredded
    • 1 pound raw shredded = 9-10 servings raw

    http://homecooking.about.com/od/foodequivalents/a/cabbageequiv.htm

Leave a Reply

