Jump on It

Happy Monday!  Time to get our workout on!  Guess what is right around the corner—>  SWIMSUIT season!  And for me it also means a wedding coming up in…6 weeks!  YIKES! (Congrats to my lil sis and her cute fiance).  So needless to say, it is crunch time in my neck of the woods.  Please don’t come knocking with Girl Scout cookies ’cause I can’t say no!

Remember that song “Jump on It” by Sir Mix-a-Lot?  I used to dance the night away to that song at sleepovers.  We’d all shake our tween bootays to the part that goes “What’s up Austin, what’s up?  What’s up, Austin what’s up?  Austin!  Jump on it!  Jump on it!  Jump on it!” And then squeal and giggle til the wee hours of the morning.  I was so excited to finally have my NAME in a song!  Anyway, I have been thinking of all that jumping and jumping to that song since I started picking up some light jump roping.  Guess what?  It’s tiring!  I guess it was a lot easier back then when I had a skinny pre-pubescent pre-offspring body. 🙂

Jumping Rope is a killer workout, and it’s very inexpensive, and convenient.  I bought a rope at Walmart for $2.  TWO!  Thank you very much.  As luck would have it, I found an awesome podcast for jumping rope.  They have everything these days!  It’s a part of motiontraxx (search for it on iTunes).  There is a beginner jump rope podcast for free, and then you can find more advanced levels on their website.  It’s pretty fun!  I do feel quite silly as I go out on the backyard patio and pray that my neighbor won’t hear the “thud thud” and look over to see me in spandex and sleepy-dusted eyes.  OY!  But once I get that podcast going, I get lost in the music of Abba and Billy Joel, and in the jumping trance.  It’s a quick 7 minute workout, and if you do it twice you can burn over 100 calories.  Pretty fast and easy, and a great way to start your morning.  Time to bring the 80’s back, people.

Here’s 2 cool videos to get you PUMPED about it!!

4 comments on “Jump on It

  1. Jumping rope is a killer workout. I like to do it tabata style without a rope so I don’t have to stop and start. The thing about tabatas is you have to give it your all so I try and beat the reps each round. I hope you meet you goals!!

  2. Krista says:

    I love jump rope. I will sometimes do 10 minutes before an interval and 10 minutes after. Or I will do 20 min at once just for a cardio workout. Or I will make it part of my interval. With one of my classes today we will do an jump rope interval. 50 sec jump rope 10 sec rest 50 sec leg exercise 10 sec rest and so on. Sometimes we do arms and jump rope sometimes abs or mix and match. So good!

  3. Kristen says:

    Hey! If you need it- I still have the video tape we made one night of jammin’ out in awesome outfits- No Sir-Mix-A-lot BUT– but we rocked Janet Jackson!! 😉

Leave a Reply

