BREAD SUCCESS 1st Edition

Well…it’s only semi-true.  This recipe makes 3 loaves and one out of three turned out perfect.  The other two…a little substandard.  BUT, one of them was beautiful!  So the question is – What did I do differently?  Absolutely no idea.  I’m going to try again this week and see if I really am getting better, or if that was just a fluke.  Ha!  As it turns out, it was the Rose Bowl and we had to cheer on our Oregon Ducks so we had a few friends over.  They all sampled the bread, and it was a success.  I have mixed feelings, because I’ve had so many failures that I don’t want to get my hopes up, but on the other hand, I am thrilled I actually made a loaf that worked out!!  It IS possible!  We were so caught up in the excitement that I failed to take a picture of the beauteous loaf, so we’re stuck with a few slices.


Here’s the recipe from whole food kids (her kids are cute, huh?  all TEN of them!).

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Bread (makes 6 loaves)

Ingredients

  • 7-½ cups warm water
  • 2 tablespoons and 1-½ teaspoons active dry yeast
  • ¾ cup honey
  • ¾ cup butter, softened
  • 2 tablespoons and 1-½ teaspoons salt
  • ¾ cup nonfat dry milk powder
  • 15½ cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup vital wheat gluten
  • 2 cups quick-cooking oats

Directions

1. Preheat over to 350 degrees F. In very large bowl, combine warm water, yeast and honey. Let yeast dissolve for about 5 minutes.

2. Add remaining ingredients. Stir to combine, then knead on floured counter for about ten minutes, adding more flour if needed to form a soft ball that sticks to itself.

3. Place in a greased bowl, cover with moist towel and let rise until doubled in bulk, about an hour.

4. Punch down and knead for one minute, then form into six loaves and place in well-greased bread pans. Cover with a moist towel and let rise until doubled in bulk, 30 to 45 minutes.

5. Bake for 35 to 45 minutes or until bread is golden brown.

6. Take out of pans and let cook on racks.

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.  Slap some yummy jam and or butter and honey on that baby and you will swear off Atkins forever!!

ps – Today marks day one for the No Processed Foods Challenge.  More on that later this week.

6 comments on “BREAD SUCCESS 1st Edition

  1. Andrea says:

    That bread looks awesome–it has that perfect wholesome texture. Thanks for posting it–I’m always on the look out for new recipes! I’ve never had two loaves from the same batch come out too different (unless, of course I burn one 😉 I wonder what could’ve went wrong with the other two?

  2. I’ve been looking for a bread recipe that actually works but I’ve never heard of vital wheat gluten so I’ll have to get some before trying this recipe. And buy some pans because mine is glass and too small.

    • Granola Mom says:

      I just tried this again this week and all 3 loaves came out great! I think the vital wheat glueten must do something special to it, and this time I also used half white wheat (not white flour, but white wheat) and half whole wheat.

  3. ayrel says:

    I’m trying this this weekend along with soup- while it snows, snows, snows outside. BTW- Whole Food mom is Ben’s cousin 🙂

  4. Tiffany says:

    Making this tonight! Hopefully it turns out okay! I didn’t have any wheat gluten! :-/

Leave a Reply

