A Post about My Compost

I hate wasting food.  It kills me to throw things away.  And living in New York (do I talk about that too much?  It was just a very life-changing experience) forced me to realize how much trash we have.  They are sticklers over there about recycling.  They have very strict rules about things, and we even lived in an area where if you threw away something that COULD have been recycled, they would not take your trash.  Pretty harsh, right?  So I picked up some good recycling habits, but I still throw away lots of food remains that makes me feel guilty for some reason.  Especially since I know they could be put to good use in a compost pile.  Side note:  The Mr. is from Oregon – you know the hippie granola state.  We always make fun of the Oregonians (even though I love it there) and in the past I would throw in stuff about “my compost pile” as a joke to mock it.  Guess I am eating my words.  Never say never.  I swore I would never drive a minivan and guess who is waiting for her car to die so she can buy a minivan?  Yes I just said that.  Insert mental picture here of my 17-year old self rolling her eyes.

My college roommate and fam live in the basement of our house…or rather we live in the upstairs of their house.  It’s an awesome arrangement, mostly because my bestie is right downstairs.  Anyway, we moved here in the summer when a lovely vegetable garden was already in full bloom.  We enjoyed it all summer long.  Well, it’s a big backyard with tons of space, and so there are two areas for composting.  We are both pretty much beginners, but it’s pretty funny because I talked to her about it when we first moved in and then we didn’t talk about it again.  Yesterday I went outside to turn the pile, and guess who was out there working on it?  My bestie.  What are the odds of that?  I started cracking up.  I still have a lot to learn, and don’t really know what I am doing.  I’ve got to have the Mr. build a quick little wooden frame for me to do it right I guess.  From what I have read, it is ideal to have one cubic yard to get the right temperature inside. I’m excited about it!

Here’s the pile.

See my pumpkin from Halloween?


There’s so much information out there and I wonder what people did before the internet.  Go to the library and look up books on composting??  That would take forever.  Here’s a pretty good website with the basics broken down.  And here’s the awesome cheesy video that is actually very informative and tells you everything you need to know.

I’ve read things about composting indoors using those big storage bins, composting in garages, etc.  I also know that a good compost pile will go dormant in the winter and come right back in the summer (isn’t nature amazing), so I’m not too worried or in a hurry.  Just another thing I am going to work on in 2012.  Stay tuned for the part where I stop shaving and washing my hair.  I hope it doesn’t come to that…

Leave a Reply

