Chocolate Chip Cookies: You Will Love Me For This

I don’t feel bad about making chocolate chip cookies, because it doesn’t happen often, and they are much healthier than store bought cookies.  I always try to add oatmeal (because I love it anyway) and that makes it even better!

Soooo…here’s a little secret that my awesome sister-in-law taught me.  Did you know that you can replace the butter with White Northern Beans?  It’s true!  One time she made them for me and I even tried the dough, imagining it to taste like beans.  But it DIDN’T!  I ate a bunch of it.  She usually just replaces half the butter so as to leave a little bit of flavor in the cookie.  Just measure out the beans, then mash them up with a fork in a bowl until they are nice and smooth.  I tried it myself tonight.

It’s always a bit of a gamble when it comes to me making cookies.  For some reason I always screw it up.  I either burn them or they melt flat with big pokey chocolate chips sticking out of them.  About 1 out of 4 batches comes out right.  You don’t believe me?  Here is the proof from last Christmas (cookies 1 cm thick):

Luckily, tonight I had some success!

Here’s my most favorite recipe ever from my roomie Brittany aka my second mother.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies (with Beans instead of Butter)

Original Recipe by John Hofman

  • 1 Cup Butter (so 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup beans)
  • 1 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 Cup White Sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Tbs Water
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 2 Cups Sifted Flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 2 Cups Oatmeal
  • 1 – 2 Cups Chocolate Chips
  • 1 Cup Nuts

Cook 10 minutes at 375 degrees.  Makes about 4 dozen cookies.  Or 3 if you are like me and eat a lot of dough. 🙂

Apparently you can also substitute the eggs with a big Tablespoon of pumpkin, but it leaves a slight pumpkiny taste.  I have yet to try this, but it sounds yummy!

 

One comment on “Chocolate Chip Cookies: You Will Love Me For This

  1. Tiffany says:

    Mmmmm, looks yummy! I may have to pin it so I can make it later!!

Leave a Reply

