Switchin’ Up the Workout

I’ve mentioned here before that I love to run.  It’s my exercise of choice.  But lately the temperature has been in the upper teens and mid twenties, and it’s reeeeeally easy to talk myself out of going for a run in that weather.  So I’ve been heading to the (free) gym at The Mr.’s school to get my sweat on.

You know what’s annoying?  Running on a treadmill.  You know what’s even worse?  Stationary Bikes!  I get soooooo bored.  Plus I feel like it takes longer to get a good workout on a bike, and you have to keep upping the resistance, and what are you really supposed to do on it?  I have been to spinning classes before, and they are awesome, but I have no idea how to do that all by myself in the middle of a gym. Treadmills are at least pretty self-explanatory.  The gym has “spinning” bikes, and they were calling my name, but I was lost.

I usually listen to an iPod to make things less robotic, and lots of times I listen to podcasts.  Well today I found a jewel of a podcast that turned my biking woes into an awesome workout!  It’s called “motiontraxx.”  It is basically a deejay who puts music to beats that help you keep your pace in endurance exercise.  You can use it for walking, running, biking, hiking, dancing, etc.  The one I downloaded today was a guest spinning instructor from Equinox gym in New York who talked you through an entire spinning workout.  It…was…awesome!  Afterward, I wanted to sing this song:

I love technology!  Anyway, if you are looking for a good pace-setter with music, or a cycling workout, or a running workout, or anything else, this podcast is awesome.  Check it out on iTunes, or go to the website and check out past podcasts to see what they have.

 

Leave a Reply

