What’s For Dinner Wednesday – Crock Pot Edition

Before you judge me…just hear me out.  I know what you are thinking.  It looks like barf in a bowl right?  But have you ever HAD split pea soup?  It’s pretty darn delicious.  I tried it for the first time when we were newlyweds and wondered if I had suddenly put our marriage in jeopardy, but The Mr. took a bite and loved it.  He will randomly ask me to make it for him so I had to surprise him on a cold day like today.  It felt and tasted so good.

Here’s a trick I use sometimes with getting my little ones to try new foods, especially soup.  I break up some bread and pour a big ladle of soup over the top.  I tell them it is soup bread and they usually don’t bat an eye.  They both almost cleaned their plates tonight.  Wahoo for vegetables!!

Split Pea Soup (recipe from “Saving Dinner” by Leanne Ely)

  • 1 lb. split peas, rinsed
  • 1 ham bone, optional (I opted out)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 1/2 quarts water (or chicken broth if not using ham bone)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Put all ingredients except the salt and pepper into a crock-pot.  Cover and cook on high for 4-5 hours, or low for 8-10 hours, or until peas are soft.  Before serving, remove bone and bay leaf.   Salt and pepper to taste.

We ate this with yummy homemade bread and some DELICIOUS fresh pineapple.  Yum.

Thumbs up all around.

Leave a Reply

