Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies – Low Sugar!

Hi, my name is Austyn and I have a baking addiction.  No big deal.  I love all things pumpkin, and it just so happened that I had some leftover in the fridge that was about to go bad, so I HAD to use it to make cookies, right?  No choice.  Anywho, I found a pretty healthy recipe that only had 1/2 cup of sugar, so I whipped up a quick batch.  They may or may not have ALL gotten eaten within 5 hours.  Okay, there are 5 left.  But still…they are pretty delish (I heard if you shorten words like that it is cool.  That’s what a teenager told me).

So here is the recipe, straight from Super Healthy Kids (love that blog!)

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup pureed pumpkin
  • 2 TBL canola oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • Chocolate chips optional (umm…yes please)

Combined all ingredients. Drop by Tablespoonfull onto sprayed cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes.

Makes 24 cookies, or 2 dozen.  But if you are like me, then you never ever get the right amount of cookies out of the recipe.  I think I got 18.  I guess I make ’em too big.  Enjoy enjoy!

Leave a Reply

