Homemade Graham Crackers – No Sugar!

Once we cut back on the processed food, we cut out graham crackers.  😦 I think my kids were pretty sad ( and I was too).  It’s the standard toddler snack!  It has been a tricky adjustment, because crackers are such an easy and tasty snack.   But Nabisco Honey Grahams have partially hydrogenated soybean oil and that stuff is junk.  So, we’ve just gone without, until TODAY!  I tried making these from scratch, and it went pretty well.

Homemade Graham Crackers

(Originally Adapted from Megan at Food and Whine)

  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tbsp molasses
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seed

Directions

1.  Mix the oil, honey, milk, molasses and vanilla.  In a large bowl, combine 2 cups of the flour, baking powder and flax.

2.  Combine the wet and dry ingredients.  Slowly add the remaining flour, 1/4 cup at a time, until the dough is no longer sticky.

3.  Roll out the dough as evenly as possible directly onto a greased baking sheet.  I just flipped mine over and used the back since it doesn’t have a lip.  Poke holes in the dough with a fork.

4.  Bake at 350F for 10-15 minutes until lightly browned.

The Wild One helped me make it and he ate the dough and the crackers.  They taste pretty different than the store bought crackers, but they are still pretty good.  It’s nice to have an option of a non-sticky, non-juicy snack we can eat on the go.  Saturdays are starting to become my food prep day a little bit.  I make bread, muffins, granola, or whatever else to last us through the week.  This switch has been such a challenge, but we are slowly starting to get the hang of things.

No-processed-Food Challenge Update:  The challenge officially ended last night.  We had a small dinner party here last night, where we had some dessert, and a little bit of processed food in the main course.  I…felt…horrible after everyone left.  My stomach was upset, I was bloated, and I just felt…gross.  It’s so crazy to me!  I was eating like that on a daily basis and probably felt like that on a daily basis, not realizing that I felt horrible.  That was my normal.  I am a believer in this stuff.  It is really changing our lives a little bit at a time.

3 comments on “Homemade Graham Crackers – No Sugar!

  1. Merce says:

    WHHHAT?! That’s what the kids were eating in church…. You really are Awesome Austyn!

  2. Heather says:

    Walmart brand graham crackers do not have hydrogenated oils.

Leave a Reply

