What’s for Dinner Wednesday – Vegetarian Edition

My very most favorite thing about Thanksgiving is the sweet potatoes.  They are almost good enough for me to hide them under my bed and eat them in the middle of the night.  I loooooove them.  I was so excited to find this recipe that doesn’t have brown sugar.  It fits in my food challenge, and honestly it tasted like it had brown sugar!

Sweet Potato Casserole

(originally adapted from 100 days of real food)

Potatoes

  • 2 medium to large sweet potatoes
  • 3 tablespoons butter, preferably unsalted
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon pure maple syrup
Topping
  • 1 cup pecans, chopped
  • 1/3 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 4 tablespoons butter, preferably unsalted
  • 1 tablespoon pure maple syrup
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Peel, cube and boil sweet potatoes until tender. If you cut the cubes small enough (1 ½” to 2”) they shouldn’t take more than 10 minutes. Drain potatoes.
  3. Add the butter, vanilla, milk, egg and syrup to potatoes and mash/mix together by hand with a potato masher or fork or you can use an electric mixer.
  4. Transfer mashed potato mixture to a square casserole dish.
  5. Mix together the pecans and flour for the topping. Melt the butter and syrup together and stir into the pecan mixture.
  6. Evenly spread pecan topping on top of the potatoes in casserole dish.
  7. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until bubbly.

On the side we had:

Roasted Green Beans with Parmesan Cheese

  • 3-4 cups fresh green beans
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Wash greenbeans and break the ends off.
  3. Spread them out on a cookie sheet.  Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt, toss them so it gets evenly coated.
  4. Place in oven for 10 minutes
  5. Remove and toss vegetables again.
  6. Cook for another 5 minutes.  Remove and sprinkle with parmesan cheese

Consensus:

The Mr.:  Loved it

Me:  I normally hate green beans, especially fresh, but these have a completely different flavor.  I honestly loved it.

Both Boys:  Could not have cared less, although I did find Tornado choking on one he found on the floor a few hours later.

2 comments on “What’s for Dinner Wednesday – Vegetarian Edition

  1. Sarah C. says:

    Hey girl! I think your blog is so interesting! I’m in the process of changing our family’s diet to mostly plant-based. My Mr. is a little more difficult than yours. 🙂 But, when he tastes REAL food and sees results in his energy levels, body, mind, etc. I think he will thank me. I’ve only just started like the past couple weeks but the more I learn the more I realize I don’t know! Don’t mind if I tag along! peace.

Leave a Reply

