Oh Snap…Crackle, POP

Did you know you can make homemade microwave popcorn in a paper bag??  This is the best thing to happen to the Mr. since 2004 when he met me. 🙂

He has a serious obsession with popcorn, to the point where I have to remove the bowl from his presence to allow others to get in on the action.  Since we got on this health kick, he’s slipped into a mild depression because basically every brand of microwave popcorn has baaaaaaaaad stuff in it.  If we ever did find a brand without trans fat, it had a bunch of processed stuff or weird butter flavorings and tons of salt.  I know– easy solution would be to get an air popper, right?  I guess my excuse in the past was WHERE we would keep that bulky thing in our teeny NY apartment.

I remembered I had read something about making popcorn in a paper bag a while back so we looked it up and made it tonight.

Homemade Microwave Popcorn

  • 1/4 cup popcorn kernels
  • 1 paper bag
  • butter (optional)
  • salt (optional)

Put the kernals in the paper bag.

Fold the top down twice to keep it from popping open.

Put it in the microwave for 3 minutes.  It takes about 40 seconds for it to start popping, and then it will begin to pop rapidly.  Let it go until it slows down and there are about 5 seconds in between pops.  Every microwave is different, but mine took about 2 minutes 45 seconds.

Here’s our moment of truth…

BAM!  I can’t believe this works!  How awesome is that??  So you can eat this plain if you like.  We put a little bit of melted butter and sprinkled some salt.

You can also put other seasonings on: parmesan, seasoning salt, cinnamon and sugar, etc.  Here’s a great link with some good ideas on homemade seasonings.

There you have it.  Healthy, easy, convenient, and cheap popcorn!

In other news…my 30 days of no processed foods is going…okay.  I’ve been really good, but it is challenging!  It makes me realize just how many processed foods I was eating before, and I really thought I had hardly any!  I will go into more detail tomorrow and give a run down of the past couple of days.

TTFN!

4 comments on “Oh Snap…Crackle, POP

  1. Pam says:

    I love Food Inc. and have watched it many times because I keep making other people watch it so I watch it again with them! 🙂 In Defense of Food was an eye opener, too. I love Michael Pollan’s contribution to informing people about the food system in America. I enjoy your blog! ~Pam

  2. Ayrel says:

    Guess what?!? You inspired me! This post reminded me of popping popcorn as a kid. We always did it in a pan with a little oil and a lid. So last night I popped some for b. and me. He had never seen it before- he was standing right behind me the whole time like a little 8 year old. And the popcorn was awesome. It took just as long to make as the microwave, and it was soooooooo much better. Thanks for the idea. You rock!

    • Granola Mom says:

      Love it! I can see you guys in the kitchen doing that. So cute. Our stove top is ridiculously loud so I never tried it for risk of waking the kiddos. Mine was quick too! Once you can get over the mental hurdle of it being a hassle, it’s really not so bad.

Leave a Reply

