Bread Fail Part 2

Okay, I am down on my knees bowing to anyone who makes an amazing loaf of homemade bread.  It is a serious art, and I am still such a novice.  BUT I like doing it, and even though it is usually pretty ugly, it still tastes good so it’s not a TOTAL fail.  One of these days I hope my experimenting with things will all pay off.  My friend sent me this amazing recipe for bread, and I just had to try it.  Here’s how it all went down.

Honey Whole Wheat Bread with Walnuts, Flax & Sunflower Seeds

Recipe by Marisa Lowe, originally adapted from Weight Watchers
(Makes 2 loaves)

  • 2 cups warm water
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 2 envelopes of yeast- or 4 1/2 tsp
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (or any combo of flour)- set aside 1/2 cup
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup ground flax
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup chopped sunflower seeds

First, add the honey to warm water and stir till mixed in. Add the yeast and swirl it around with a butter knife just so all the yeast gets wet. Set this aside for 10-12 minutes. It should get a frothy looking top, so you know that the yeast is activated.  Here is my yeast mixture…It looks activated?? I think??

In another bowl combine the flour, salt, flax, nuts and mix to combine.  I had whole flax seeds, so I had to grind it up in the blender and it worked just fine. 

After the yeast is all frothy on top, add the olive oil to it and then add this mixture to the flour mixture in a large bowl. Stir this till all the wet mixture is soaked up and spoon it on the counter to get ready to knead!

As I am writing this I just realized I forgot the olive oil.  Wow.  Mystery might be solved…

Set a timer and knead for about 8 minutes. Use the reserved 1/2 cup of flour to work back in the dough a little at a time because the dough will be sticky.  The dough is ready when its smooth (as it can be with the nuts poking out everywhere!).

Place dough ball in a bowl to rise for an hour.  Put a towel over it to keep it warm.  Tornado couldn’t keep his hands out of it!

After an hour the dough should be doubled, place it back on counter and seperate into 2 equal pieces, knead the separate pieces for 1-2 minutes, shape and place in a non-stick sprayed bread pans.  Cover again and let rise for another hour.  It should rise about double again.  Here’s where mine didn’t double again.  It rose, but didn’t really fill the pans.

Bake bread at 350 for 35 minutes. Let cool for 10 min and have a slice of your hard work!!!

Here’s my finished products…  Not as pretty, but still sooooooooo delicious.  Stay tuned, because I am going to try this again and my next title will either be:  “Bread Fail Part 3” or “Success!”

One comment on “Bread Fail Part 2

  1. Hey you….you should try SAF instant yeast…..I swear buy it and will use nothing else. It’s what a lot of bakeries or commercial bread makers will use. It’s awesome!

    I’m pretty sure you can purchase it at Macey’s…if not there, then the Bosch Kitchen Center in Orem (176 West Center Street…..(801) 224-1616) should carry it. If you do buy some, after you open it up for the first time, dump the rest of the yeast into a mason jar or tupperware and store it in the freezer. It will keep better.

    p.s. your bread looks GOOD! I haven’t forgotten about the post….I’ll get it done sooner than later!

Leave a Reply

