What’s for Dinner Wednesday: Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

I guess it is Spaghetti Squash season because I see it EVERYWHERE.  I always feel like they are much too huge to make as a side dish for our small family, so I was excited to find this recipe.   It was in the back of Dr. Weil’s book.  And that is the last I am going to talk about him.  I promise. 🙂   It was pretty yummy and packed with veggies, so I’m a fan.

Here it is:

Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 1 onion
  • 1 bell pepper
  • red pepper flakes
  • salt
  • 1 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes (I used fresh from the garden)
  • basil
  • oregano
  • all spice
  • 2-5 garlic cloves
  • 3/4 lb. mozarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese

Bake the spaghetti squash at 350 for about an hour or until it is done.  You can bake it whole, and when a fork slides easily into it, it is done.  I cut mine in half and put it in a pan with an inch of water, then covered with aluminum foil.  Both ways work fine.  When it is done and cool, slice it open, scoop out the seeds, and scoop out the meat of the squash and put in a large bowl.  Mash it up so it is all stringy.  Pour some olive oil in a pan, and saute the onion and carrot for about 5 minutes.  Add the rest of the veggies and season with salt.   Add tomatoes, seasonings, and garlic.  Mix the vegetables with the squash.   Mix the 2 cheeses together in a bowl.  I didn’t use the exact amount.  That seems like a lot of cheese…I just kind eyeballed it, so you can use less if you want.  In a 9×13 pan, layer squash mixture, then half the cheese.  Repeat.  Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes, and done!

This was actually really yummy.  I served it with rice to make it a little heartier.

Consensus:

The Mr.:  Always a good sport, he ate it and acted like it was good.

Me:  Loved it and pleased it turned out to be tasty.

The Wild One:  Took the customary two bites, and snacked on other stuff.

Tornado:  LOVED it.  He ate soooo much of it.  YAY!

One comment on “What’s for Dinner Wednesday: Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

  1. Just happened onto your site via Dashboard,

    While I don’t usually go for “alternative” versions of lasagna, my wife and I made something similar to this earlier in the week and it was delicious. You’re sounds great as well!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

