Brain Food Dude and French Fries

Howdy folks.  Do you ever get sooooooo bored with your life?  Bored is not the right word.  More like depressed with the mundane?  A miracle happened today — my kids fell asleep at the same time. I KNOW!  I didn’t even know what to do with myself.  Endless possibilities right?  Take a nap myself?  Watch a junky tv show?  Read?  Exercise?  Shop online?  I got so excited until I looked around and saw the pile of filth that was my kitchen floor.  Rats.  So I heaved a heavy sigh and succumbed to my motherly duties.  But I jumped on iTunes to find a cool podcast to lift my woes and I found one!  I will never listen to another flitty airhead mom podcast again!  It’s called BrainFood Dude.  This guy listens to a gazillion podcasts all week long and then picks his favorites and plays the best 5-10 minutes of that segment.  So you get to learn all kinds of interesting things in a wide variety of genres and then if you are really interested you can find the whole segment online and listen to the rest.  Genius right?  That guy has the best job in the world!  Check it out if you are looking for a way to spice up your life (oh goodness…if podcasts are what is spicing up my life things are pretty sad.  My 17 year-old self would be so disappointed in me right now!).

In other news, I made some homemade fries for the fam two days in a row and they were the bomb!  They got scarfed down in two seconds by all household members, and thank goodness because I had ten pounds of potatoes to get rid of in my pantry.

They are super easy and super yummy.

Homemade Baked French Fries

  • Potatoes
  • Salt
  • Olive Oil

Just chop up the potatoes into strips, spread them out on a cookie sheet, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt.

Bake at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes, then take them out and turn them over and pop them back in for another 5-10 minutes.

Sooooo delicious!  And nutritious!

By the way, you can do this with so many things.  One of our favorite easy dinners is roasted vegetables.  Use the same process and it comes out with such an amazing flavor.  We usually do asparagus, zucchini and squash, peppers, carrots, and tomatoes.  So easy even The Mr. can do it!!  Mmmmm….my mouth is watering.

Leave a Reply

