2 Super-Food Snacks

Last week my Bountiful Baskets basket had a big bunch of Kale and a container of cranberries, and then THIS week I got the same thing!  That means I had to get creative so I didn’t have to toss those beauties.  I’m always scrounging for healthy snacks for the kiddos, so I found two awesome recipes and tried them out.  But let’s start out with some nutritional info on these bad boys.

Why cranberries are superfoods:

Cranberries are a good source of Vitamin C and fiber.  For disease-fighting antioxidants, cranberries outrank nearly every fruit and vegetable–including strawberries, spinach, broccoli, red grapes, apples, raspberries, and cherries.

 Fresh cranberries stored in a tightly-sealed plastic bag in the refrigerator will last up to two months. Two months!
Cranberry Salsa
  • 12 ozs  fresh cranberries
  • 1 8 oz can crushed pineapple with juice
  • 1/3 cup cilantro…chopped
  • 1 seeded jalapeno pepper chopped fine
  • ¼ c. onion chopped
  • ¼ cup green pepper chopped
  • 1 tsp salt
  • sugar (I used about 1/3 cup)

Combine all ingredients in the food processor and you are done!Serve with corn chips.  This salsa is SOOOOO good!
Consensus:
Me:  YES PLEASE!  And don’t put it too close to me because I’m going to eat the whole bowl!
The Mr:  Ditto
The Wild One:  Looked at it but didn’t touch it.
Tornado:  Too young for chips…maybe next time.
*****
Why Kale is a superfood:
Kale is basically high in everything: beta carotene, vitamin C, minerals, folic acid, calcium, magnesium, and fiber.  It helps with digestive disorders, reduces blood pressure, and helps in fighting heart disease.
I’ve heard a lot of good things about these so I decided to try them.

Kale Chips

  • 1 bunch of Kale
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt

Remove stems and toss the leaves in olive oil and sprinkle with salt.

Bake at 375 for about 20 minutes, and serve.
Consensus:
Me and The Mr.:  ewwwww, hated it!  I don’t know if I burned it or what, but it was gross to me.  I’m going to have to try it again at some point.
The Wild One:  Put it in his mouth, then pushed it out with his tongue and scraped it out with both hands.  Here’s an after picture.
hmmmm…
Tornado:  Was spared from an awful fate.
Back to the drawing board.  For now I am going to have to stick to  green smoothies to use up the rest.
4 comments on “2 Super-Food Snacks

  1. Tiffany says:

    Sad that the kale chips didn’t work. I just saw them on another blog and thought that sounded like a good idea!!!

  2. Michelle Rocha says:

    http://blog.superhealthykids.com/2011/11/kale-smoothies-chips/

    My friend just posted this blog on kale today…check it out, maybe her ideas improve the taste of kale…

  3. Marissa says:

    I love your new blog. I read it everyday. Thanks for all the tips. I was at the farmers market the other day and tried some kale chips and they tasted great. I thought I could make them, but boy was I wrong. They were so nasty. If you come up with more kale ideas I would love it. I seem to get kale every week in my co-op box.

Leave a Reply

