What’s for Dinner Wednesday – Crock Pot Edition

Today was a little chilly.  Time to break out warm and hearty (and healthy!) meals.  I love this time of year.  If you are like me, then you always have more corn tortillas in your house than you know what to do with.  I made this out of scraps I had laying around, and all I had to buy was cilantro.    Super yummy and pretty easy.  I adapted this recipe from Weelicious, but I didn’t use as much cheese, salt,  or salsa, and I think next time I will substitute the meat with beans.

Crock Pot Mexican Tortilla Lasanga

  • 1 Large Onion, diced
  • 1 Garlic Clove, minced
  • 1 lb Lean Ground Turkey or beef or BEANS
  • 1 tsp Cumin
  • 1/2 tsp Salt (if any at all)
  • 1/2 Tsp Chili Powder
  • 1 Large Egg, whisked
  • 1/2 Cup Sour Cream
  • 1 Cup Carrots, peeled and grated (about 2 carrots)
  • 1 Cup Frozen Corn Kernels, defrosted
  • 1/4 Cup Cilantro, chopped
  • 1 12 oz Pkg. Corn Tortillas (12 Tortillas)
  • 2 Cups Mexican Cheese Blend
  • 1 14. oz Jar Mild Chunky Salsa

Start cooking beef in a skillet (if using beans, omit this step and add beans in later).  Saute onion with beef, along with cumin, chile powder, and salt.  Cook until meat is done.  Add garlic for 1 minute.  Set aside.  In a bowl whisk the egg with sour cream.  Add in carrots, corn, cilantro, and beef or bean mixture.  Pour about 1 cup of salsa in the bottom of a large crock pot.  Then layer tortillas, 1/2 of the meat mixture, salsa, and cheese.  Repeat.  Layer a few more tortillas, salsa, and cheese.  Cook on low for 2 1/2 hours. Serve with a big green salad and side veggie, and you’re set.

I should note here that Daisy Sour Cream is the best.  It has one ingredient – milk.  I’ll take it.

Consensus:

The Mr.:  He liked it but had an event to go to where food was served so he only took a bit.

Me:  I have a problem because I could not stop eating this!  It tasted so delicious to me!

The Wild One:  He was pretty hesitant.  I had to keep telling him it was tortillas and cheese (his fav.) but it was a struggle.  I was hoping it would fool him that the carrots look like cheese since they are grated, but he saw through it.  I put some on his fork and made him take 2 big bites and he said, “mmmm… I LIKE that meat.”  But that was pretty much it.  It’s okay.  I read once that a child has to be introduced to a new food 15 times before they will start eating it.  So only 14 more Mexican Lasagnas to go…

Tornado:  Ate it and smacked his gums.  Don’t be jealous…I couldn’t get him to eat anything for breakfast or lunch.  sigh.

 

This entry was posted in Recipes.

3 comments on “What’s for Dinner Wednesday – Crock Pot Edition

  1. Carrie says:

    It sounds so yummy! I am going to try this one for sure. If it involves a crock pot I am all over it!

  2. Great to see healthy recipes like this one! I’m going to make it this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

