Cravings

When I was younger I ate a lot of hearty, warm things for breakfast.  Cold cereal was revolting to me.  I only had it as a last resort.  The thought of putting something cold and wet in my mouth made me want to barf.  I even stayed away from fruit because it made me cold, and it never sounded good.   Several years later The Mr. introduced me to the WONDERS of cold cereal.  Oh man.  He had it every single day and soon enough I was hooked.  I found my favorites and I was devouring bowls of it 6 out of 7 days.  The two of us would easily plow through 3 or 4 boxes a week.  I couldn’t imagine eating anything else….until I got on this health kick and I started reading ingredients on the back and realized how processed they all are..  I still do eat some cereals and some can be pretty good for you, but that’s for another day.  Anyway, I got really into lots of different grains, breads, waffles, muffins, eggs and GINORMOUS fruit salads.  Summertime was like a whirlwind of beautiful, juicy, lucious berries and summer fruits that we all couldn’t get enough of.  Every morning I’d wake up and run downstairs to start tearing fruit out of the fridge to cut up. On a side note, I also acquired this weird relationship with cutting fruit.  I even told my downstairs neighbor if she ever wanted some fruit cut up, I’d be happy to do it.  Something about it makes me really reallly happy.  I don’t know if it is the anticipation of eating it or the pretty colors, or what.  It’s just satisfying.  Maybe I should see someone???

So, where am I going with all this?   The point is: Your body starts to crave what you give it a lot of.  I swear this is true.  I couldn’t fathom the idea of not eating cold wet cereal every day.  But now, huge fruit salads and yummy whole grains call my name the second I awake.  And I feel so good after it’s down.  The same is true with eating large amounts of salt or sugar or junk food.  If you eat a lot of it, your body will crave it.   The difference is that after you eat that, not only do you feel bad physically, but mentally too, as guilt and shame usually follow.  I don’t believe in foods being off limits, or depriving yourself of anything.  But I am a big believer in filling up on the good stuff, and the cravings for junk lessen.  It really works.  Try it.

It works with kids too.  People are always commenting on how many fruits and vegetables my boys eat.  It is a constant struggle at dinner.  “Eat your chicken, and THEN you can have some more cucumbers.”  “HOW did you get them to do that??”

They ask.  Truth is, I’m not really sure.   I just offer them a wide variety of healthy stuff, and that’s always what they want to eat the most.  The biggest challenge is when it all comes out the other end.  Let’s just say our kids don’t have any problems with being regular.  OY!

Bottom Line (get it?) – Fill up on the good stuff, and your body will start to love it.

 

 

2 comments on “Cravings

  1. Oh goodness…I am having the HARDEST time with Gracie. She has been picky from day one and I try to offer good, wholesome foods but it is a daily struggle! You have given me hope 🙂 She seriously lives off of yogurt, bananas and peanut butter and agave sandwiches (and anything sweet her grandpa offers…ugh). In the summer she was great with the watermelon. I’m working (struggling) with the veggies. I get stressed out everyday when it comes to dinner time!

    I just started making this Blender Pancake recipe for her (a recipe that my mom made growing up) It’s been helpful because I feel like I can offer her something she likes but it’s also a lot better of a choice than other things she’d happily eat. Here is the recipe…thought you might enjoy it 🙂

    BLENDER PANCAKES

    1 ¼ c. water (or milk or half water/half milk) 2 Tbl. oil (I’ve been using coconut oil)
    1 c. wheat (or wheat/14 grain blend mix) 1 Tbl. honey or sugar (I’ve been using agave)
    ¼ c. dry milk (optional) ½ tsp. salt
    1 egg 1 Tbl. baking powder

    Mix water, wheat, milk in blender for 3 minutes. Add egg, oil, sugar, salt and blend for 20 seconds. Add baking powder – pulse 3 times. Cook immediately.

    I’ve been using a bag of whole grain spelt and a 14 grain blend mix (1/2 cup of each). It would be great with that or wheat or kamut or any whole grain…

    I’m enjoying your posts…definitely finding some inspiration on how to get my little one (and myself and Justin!) to eat better 🙂 If you have ANY more tips on how you’re getting your little guys to eat vegetables, pass them on! I’m all ears!

    (p.s. I would LOVE to do a guest post on the bread machines or whatever you want….I’ve only ever really used the two I reviewed for my dad, so I’m not ALL that familiar with machine making, but if I could provide any insight or recipes or whatever, let me know!)

  2. p.s. for Gracie’s blender pancakes, I’ve been topping them with a little agave…..the last thing I wanted to put on them was maple syrup. She loves them, and actually, I’m liking the syrup substitute myself!

Leave a Reply

