What’s for Dinner Wednesday


Feeling adventurous?  We tried homemade sushi tonight.  Well, sans the fish, but it still counts, right?  I have this silly vision in my head of my kids turning 18 and having a very distinguished palate – feeling comfortable going into any restaurant and trying anything because they love all types of food and are not scared to try things.  I guess you can’t really force that kind of thing, but at least I can offer a huge variety to them and see how it goes.

I got this idea from Whole Food Kids.

It’s super easy and fast.

Sushi

  • 1 Cup Rice
  • 1 Avacado
  • 1 Cucumber
  • Cream Cheese (cube)
  • Toasted Seaweed Strips (you can find these in the Asian section of a regular grocery store or at an Asian supermarket)

On a strip of seaweed, spread a thin layer of rice, an avacado slice, a cucumber strip, and a small slice of cream cheese.

Roll it up tightly and then slice on a diagonal.

Dip it in soy sauce and enjoy!  Domo Arigato Mr. Robato.

Consensus:

I’m visiting my folks and everyone politely tried one with gusto!

The Mr: a sushi lover at heart, he immediately downed four in a row.

Me:  It was a little fishy for me (haha! How is that possible without fish?), but I still ate a bit. 🙂

The Wild One:  Obediently picked one up, took a bite and dropped the rest on the floor.

Dog:  Devoured it instantly.

Tornado:  A good sport…

but made this face afterward.

I’ll take it!  Pretty good for the first attempt.  Good Luck!


One comment on “What’s for Dinner Wednesday

  1. ayrel says:

    YUMMY! I love your boys and their big brown eyes. And The Wild One’s awesome arm tattoo. What a hip mom you are.

Leave a Reply

