Real Food

The Mr. and I love us some Thai food.  And that’s even before it became trendy – we’re that ahead of the game.  It’s our very favorite.  There is something about the spices and the perfect mix of sweet and sour that sucks me in every time.  Over the years I’ve noticed that when we leave Thai restaurants I feel really good.  My belly is full, but I don’t feel heavy or gross or like I have to unbutton my pants like when I eat at an Italian or Mexican place.  I think it’s because they don’t drown many things in oil, and it’s not so many refined and processed ingredients, but real food – rice, vegetables, peppers, coconut milk.  Have you ever tried eating based on what your body is telling you? It really works.  You know how you go on vacation, and by the third day you are sooooo sick of eating heavy restaurant food 3 times a day that a salad sounds amazing? It’s your body trying to tell you what it needs (or doesn’t need in this case…all those calories).  I use this argument when I eat a big bowl of ice cream.  My body NEEDS it. 🙂 Anyway, there is real truth to this phenomenon.  I think this is what happened with my oldest boy.  He behaves so much better now because the food we try to feed him makes him feel great.  Try listening to your body this weekend and see if it makes a difference.

I tried to tackle some red curry today in the kitchen and it turned out really yummy. Our friends came over and we gobbled that stuff down in like .2 seconds.

Thai Red Curry

  • 1 14 oz. can coconut milk
  • 2 tbs red curry paste (you can get this in the asian aisle. It comes in a little glass jar)
  • 1 tbs brown sugar
  • 2 tbs fish sauce (also in the asian aisle)
  • 1 lb. chicken (you could omit this and add more veggies)
  • 1 cup assorted veggies (I used red and green peppers, potatoes, and bamboo shoots)
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped

Chop up the chicken and cook on a skillet with olive oil.  In a pot, combine coconut milk, chili paste and sugar and blend.  Bring it to a boil, then simmer for 5 minutes.  Add chopped veggies and chicken, and cook until veggies are softer, but still crisp.  Add the fish sauce and basil.  Simmer for a few more minutes, then serve over rice.

Ohhhhh man, just typing this makes me want to pull the leftovers out of the fridge…

Consensus:

Me and the Mr.: love love loved every bite.

The wild one:  He ate the chicken and potatoes, but wasn’t too keen on the rice and veggies.  I’ll take it!

Tornado:  gobbled it up! Probably because he was eating this stuff all the time when he was just a little bean in my tummy.

Our guests:  Rave reviews – the dinner lasted almost 2 hours because we couldn’t stop eating and talking. 😉

I hope you enjoy it as much as we do! Let me know how it goes at your house.

ps – Did you know the Mr. talks Thai? Oh yeah, he talks Thai.  When we were dating I used to say, “Talk Thai to me!” But I’d always bust up laughing because it’s really not romantic sounding.  Oh well. It worked anyway.

This entry was posted in Recipes.

3 comments on “Real Food

  1. ayrel says:

    I first read this at 7 am this morning. Since then, I have been craving red chicken curry all morning. We may have to make this ASAP! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Carrie says:

    Austin this is amazing!!! Congrats on the new blog! Can you believe I have never had Thai food? I totally know what you mean about the Italian food and feeling like you need to unbutton your pants…We went to Olive Garden and I felt like I just wanted to lay down and sleep afterward. I am excited to learn from you in this new blog! Good luck and thanks for sharing your talents and passions with us.

  3. Jill says:

    Okay, here comes the longest comment ever: For the past few weeks I have been thinking about being eating healthier. I’m not talking about ‘counting calories’ healthy, but like ‘more natural’ healthy. I’ve had no idea where to start though. It’s such a foreign thing to me. I assume there are simple changes I can make that actually make a positive impact, but I don’t even know what those are. Then, voila (or wahla), I see this link on your blog today. YES! This feels like a good place for me to start. Your suggestions are not too complex or over-the-top granola-ee…maybe I can do this! I’m warning you though, you will probably become my go-to-gal for all things healthy. And you’ll have to deal with naive questions like “Do I buy fresh basil [for the curry] in the produce section?”; “Is it leafy like lettuce?”; “Where the heck do I buy bamboo shoots?”; “Is fish sauce fishy?”; if so, “Can I omit the fish sauce from the recipe?”; etc. I’m excited to try the spinach drink and the exercise website. You also already have me wanting to make my own bread. Speaking of, will you share a recipe for that? Seriously, I’m such a beginner at this. Lead me, guide me!

Leave a Reply

