On Exercise

Okay people. Here’s the background.  When I was in high school I was a runner (with a bit of basketball on the side). I loved it and still love it.  That’s kinda my thing.  In college I had to take a weightlifting class.  I’d done weights before, but more like “girly weights.”  For the first time I was doing things like dead lifts and power cleans and doing it well. I saw results like I’d never seen. I didn’t bulk up; I just got really toned and really strong.  My teacher said we should be in and out of the gym in 30 minutes, but you have to bring it for it to work.  30 minutes? I was skeptical.  Who can get a workout in 30 minutes? But after we went through the assigned routine, my body was completely spent.  30 minutes did it.  I am a very firm believer in effective strength training if you really push yourself.

So, fast forward a few years and we are living in New York. I have 2 little babies, living on the second floor of an apartment building, and my husband gets home between 9 and 10 and often much later, so I don’t get out much.  It’s eternally 30 degrees in a never-ending winter.  I have no time, no energy, no space, no resources, and don’t even want to THINK about working out cause I have nothing left to give.  Occasionally I try to pop in p90x or something while the boys are sleeping, but someone always woke up within 15 minutes of me starting it. Or I’d feel bad hopping around, cause we had neighbors below us.  I was seriously stressed out about being housebound and feeling yucky.

WELL, my sister introduced me to a website that has changed my LIFE.  It’s called “bodyrock.”  The workouts are insane and the best part is they average 20 minutes.  I was skeptical at first- who can see results in 20 minutes a day? But then I remembered my weightlifting class and tried it out.  AMEN to the bodyrock- I am a BELIEVER!  A 20 minute workout that uses no equipment, and you can do it in your tiny new york apartment?  sweet.  I haven’t seen these types of results since that weightlifting class. And I am almost 30 and have 2 babies!  Anyway, I wanted to share the link because if you are a busy mom, or cash is tight, or it’s snowing outside, or your baby only cat naps (I’ve been there on all of those), this could really be the answer you are looking for.  Sometimes a good run really feels awesome to me, but other times when I have a jam-packed day, or I can’t get the motivation to strap on my shoes, I do body rock.

Here’s a warning though- she is verrrrrrrrry scantily clad :).  Probably shouldn’t give the site to your hubby, but if you can look past all that, it’s the bomb.

www.bodyrock.tv

Leave a Reply

