What’s for Dinner Wednesday

On the menu tonight:



  • Quinoa with black beans and veggies
  • Fruit salad
  • Bread

Soooo easy and 20 minutes start to finish.
Quinoa is a super grain packed with fiber and nutrients.  I was introduced to it by my boss in New York when we were interviewing private chefs for his family. We were putting together a menu for a potential chef’s trial run. He said,”Let’s have him make fish and quinoa.  How do you spell quinoa?”  me:…blank stare…”ummm” (Remember me? the girl from the sticks? I’m the one who thinks you spell “voila” “w-a-l-l-a-h.”).  Anyway, it all worked out.  So a while later I came across it in some recipes and I’ve been a fan ever since.

This is the brand I use.

Quinoa

  • 2 cups Quinoa
  • 1 cup Black beans
  • feta cheese
  • 2 cups fresh vegetables
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • salt and pepper as needed

Make it according to the directions (just cook it like rice).
While it’s cooking, chop up about 2 cups of fresh vegetables.  I used peppers, tomatoes, celery, and cucumbers.  Put them all in a bowl.  When the quinoa is done and cooled, mix it with the veggies. Add the black beans, balsamic vinegar, and season as needed. Top it with feta cheese and enjoy.

Consensus:

Me and The Mr.– superb

The Wild One– I saw him eating it and tried not to react, but when I looked closer he was mostly eating the cheese.  BUT a few grains of quinoa were stuck on there so at least he got a taste of it. I try not to make food an issue with the kids.  I make them at least taste everything, but I don’t fight them on more than that.  As long as I keep offering the healthy stuff, I think they’ll start to love it.

Tornado (did you know he was born during a tornado? That’s a story for another day)- Ate it. Loved it.  Oh how different my boys are from each other…

The fruit salad was gone in 3 minutes. Yummy, light, nutritious dinner AND leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Yes please.

This entry was posted in Recipes.

2 comments on “What’s for Dinner Wednesday

  1. Kristen says:

    yum! I am looking for it… on the rice aisle??

  2. Granola Mom says:

    Yes! Near the rice! It’s just a small box.

Leave a Reply

