That’s What I’m Talkin’ ‘Bout

One ingredient.

Give me some more foods like this.

One time my friend left a peanut butter and jelly sandwich in the car and forgot about it. She found it one month later and guess what- no mold, no smell, nothing.  Those are some serious preservatives people.  What in the world are they putting in our food?  Have you stopped to look at the ingredients in “healthy” whole wheat bread lately?  There’s about a thousand things I can’t pronounce.  What is this stuff?  I started making homemade bread as much as I can just to cut out all the junk.  I’ve stopped looking at fat grams, calories, or sugar content on nutrition labels. There are lots of good kinds of fat, natural sugars, etc. that would rule out a good food if we went by just counting calorie grams or fat content.  In fact, most things that HAVE a nutrition label, we probably shouldn’t be eating anyway, right?  Instead I now look at the ingredients.  Do you know what they are?  Are there less than 10?   Here’s a vintage Breyers commercial circa 1984 that proves my point.

Kinda hokey, but there’s some real truth to it. The fewer the ingredients the better.     I am trying to consume foods as close to their natural form as possible.  As in take a peanut, crush it up, eat peanut butter.  YUM.

2 comments on “That’s What I’m Talkin’ ‘Bout

  1. Tanja says:

    I’m so glad you started this!! Brad and I just got back from talking to someone at the gym about nutrition and she was stressing the same point about the fewer ingredients the better (and can you understand them…). I can’t wait to see what else you right…I can use all the help I can get!!

  2. Ayrel says:

    I love this! thanks for sharing. I have no time to figure things out myself these days, so I’m gonna leave it all to you 🙂 Keep on posting!!!

Leave a Reply

